RSS Feed

“Let’s start at the very beginning… a very good place to start”

When I was a teenager, The Sound of Music was a favorite movie of mine. The music, the love, the setting… those were the things I noticed and enjoyed. Now, as an adult and parent, the things that stand out to me haven’t changed much. However, I have noticed other things that reach out and grab me.

The music still moves me: Come on, how many of you are humming, “Do, a deer, a female deer” in your heads after reading my blog title just now? The Captain’s voice is my favorite, and I get teary-eyed when I hear him sing Edelweiss (which was actually written by Oscar Hammerstein, in case anyone cares).

The love is powerful: I adore the love story between the Captain and Maria, but that’s not the only love I’m referring to. Those siblings stick together no matter what. They band together to get rid of the governesses (okay, that’s not sweet, but they are sticking together!) They play together, sing together. Yes, yes, I know it’s a movie, but their camaraderie touches me.

The family stays together: In a society where people split up when times get tough, the determination to keep their family together through brutally hard times is moving and inspiring. Just in the last year or so, the Music Man and I have heard of so many friends and acquaintances that have split up or divorced. Where is the determination to make things work? To hold your family together at all costs? The Van Trapp family had to cross MOUNTAINS to stay together!!

The clothes: Yes, I know this isn’t as deep or thought-provoking as the others, but as a crafty mama, I love that Maria makes the children play clothes out of curtains! I’ve totally wanted to recreate some of the outfits for my kids and do a SOM photo shoot. This could still happen!

I’m not really sure what the Sound of Music has to do with my very first blog post, except to highlight things that are important to me. A little meet-and-greet, if you will. Welcome to my blog. My creative outlet for (the many, many) words, thoughts and ideas bouncing around inside my head. I can’t promise it will always (or ever) be poetic. It might be funny, it might get crazy. It’s just my own little yodeling puppet show. (:

About Christina

I am a stay-at-home mama to a handsome, energetic boy and a sweet, girly-girl. I am wife to an incredible musician. Our lives revolve around our family, good food, great education and of course, wonderful music! I love to cook and create for my family, myself, and my home. This is my creative outlet for words, pictures and ideas.

7 responses »

  1. Yay! You’re blogging! I love it!

    Reply
  2. Love it! My seester is the bomb-diggity. I also like that you replied to your one comment already. I keep wanting to get into that habit, but I never do.

    Love you!

    Reply
  3. Yay! So happy to hear that you have a blog. Can’t wait to read more 🙂

    Reply
  4. well, this time i read the blog. good job! i was surprised to read of your “affliction” with “the sound of music.” i actually saw the film at the theatre when it was released in 1965. i was 7 years old and the elementary school i attended took us there on a field trip! are you familiar with “flash mobs?” i came across them quite by accident several years ago. t-mobile makes some of the best. the following link is for a “flash mob” performance of “do re mi” and i am CERTAIN you will enjoy it!l

    Reply
    • I am familiar with flash mobs, and I LOVE the idea of them. It’s actually on my “bucket list” to be a member of one! I thoroughly enjoyed the video! Thanks for sharing it.

      Reply

I love to hear from you!!

