RSS Feed

Homemade Laundry Detergent: Part Two

Good morning! Welcome back to the adventures of pioneer woman!

Totally kidding about that. Anyone that knows me would laugh at that description of me. I’m a big fan of air conditioning and running water. And coffee. And my phone and computer. But I am also a fan of being frugal, and that’s what started this whole making laundry detergent thing. I outlined the first part of the process here. Once I let the detergent sit overnight, I finished the last couple of steps and washed my first load of laundry with it!

Here are the rest of the steps, after letting it settle overnight:

After sitting all night... solid gloop

 

Break it up!

Use something (I used a long-handled serving spoon) to break up the solidified state of gloop. Then add hot water to each bottle up to a couple inches from the top.

Adding hot water

Shake it, shake, shake it, shake it like a Polaroid picture again… really put your muscles into it!

All shaken up

There you have it! Ready to use! I washed a small load of laundry to test it out. The clothes came out clean, and smelling fresh.

My review:

* I am going to separate it into three containers next time, per Jillee’s updated post. I think I’m going to have to refill the two containers with water about halfway through using them.

* I am going to invest in better containers. The heat from the detergent after taking it off the stove was a little too much for the flimsy plastic of milk jugs. I want to use a harder plastic, or even glass. I like something like this to keep a smaller portion at the laundry area, to be refilled.

* Make sure to use VERY hot water to fill the container up the rest of the way. If it isn’t hot enough, the detergent will stay lumpy.

* For those of you with sensitive skin: You don’t have to keep buying expensive free and clear detergents. You can make your own with whatever sensitive skin bar soap you use at home: Dove, Ivory, Aveeno, etc.

*This detergent is safe for h.e. machines. High efficiency machines clean using low suds formulas. The homemade detergent makes very little bubbles, and has been used by many people with h.e. machines. **Side note: bubbles are an aesthetic marketing tool. Your soaps (body wash, shampoo, dish detergent) do not need bubbles to clean. The soap itself cleans. The bubbles just make you feel like you’re doing a good job scrubbing.

I’d love to hear your stories about making your own products! If you try out the homemade detergent, leave a comment about how it works for you! Have a wonderful day!!

About Christina

I am a stay-at-home mama to a handsome, energetic boy and a sweet, girly-girl. I am wife to an incredible musician. Our lives revolve around our family, good food, great education and of course, wonderful music! I love to cook and create for my family, myself, and my home. This is my creative outlet for words, pictures and ideas.

4 responses »

  1. i plan on doing this soon. Thanks for the post!

    Reply
  2. This is awesome! How much $$ did it cost to make? I’m curious to know if its a huge savings compared to the brand I use.

    Reply
    • Julie, I meant to add that to my post. I need to pull my receipts together, but it was around $10 to buy everything I needed. Only using a cup each of the Borax and washing soda means I need to break down the cost per batch. I’ll get back with you on that.

      Reply

I love to hear from you!!

